All HMCPL branches will be closed on Thursday, November 23 and Friday, November 24 for Thanksgiving.

Skip To Main Content
Academic Search Premier -

This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.  This resource is provided by the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL).

 

AlabamaMosaic -

AlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, universities and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents as well as scholars throughout the world.  As a part of AlabamaMosaic, HMCPL is digitizing images from a collection of historic Huntsville photographs that are housed in the library's archives.

BookFlix -

This Scholastic online literacy resource pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks to reinforce reading skills and introduce children to a world of knowledge and exploration.  Access with your library card number. 

Britannica E-Books -

 eBooks on the subjects of Biographies, Geography, Government, & History, Literature, Religion, & Culture, Science & Math and Sports.

 

Fold3 -

Search or browse nearly fifty million historical documents and photos, many of which have never been made available on the Internet before.

Gale Virtual Reference Library -

A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7 with your library card and PIN/Password. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

 
 
History Reference Center -

Features cover-to-cover full text for more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for nearly 60 leading history periodicals; 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

HMCPL Obituary Index -

The HMCPL Obits Index is an index of all obituaries published in local papers. Visit obits.hmcpl.org to search our index and purchase print copies of obituaries for a nominal fee. An extra bonus: we cross-reference obituaries with interment sites. So, if you find an interment site of interest, you can view a list of other people buried there, and perhaps find additional people you didn't know you needed to look for.

Huntsville History Collection -

HHC (huntsvillehistorycollection.org) is a virtual archive of resources about the history and historic architecture of Huntsville and Madison County, Alabama. The collection brings together photographs, illustrations, surveys, and history about homes, locations, and people.

ipl2 (Internet Public Library) -

 This public service organization and a learning/teaching environment provides thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for our Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections. It is through the efforts of these students and volunteers that the ipl2 continues to thrive to this day.  Access freely available from their website.

ipl2 For Kids (Internet Public Library) -

This public service organization and a learning/teaching environment provides thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for our Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections. It is through the efforts of these students and volunteers that the ipl2 continues to thrive to this day.  Access freely available from their website.

ipl2 For Teens (Internet Public Library For Teens) -

This public service organization and a learning/teaching environment provides to date, thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for our Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections. It is through the efforts of these students and volunteers that the ipl2 continues to thrive to this day.  Access freely available from their website.

 

 

Kids.USA.gov -

Brought to you by USA.gov, Kids.gov is the official kids' portal for the U.S. government. It links kids, parents and teachers to U.S. government information and services on the web from government agencies, schools, and educational organizations.  Kids.gov is organized into three audiences: Grades K-5, Grades 6-8, and Educators. Each audience tab is divided into educational subjects like Arts, Math, and History. Within each subject, the websites are grouped as either government sites (Federal, state, military) or other resources (commercial, non-profit, educational).

Newspaper Source -

Provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center -

This resource draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Points of View Reference Center -

Provides students and schools with a series of controversial essays and presents multiple sides of the issue.

Regional Business News -

Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily.

World Vital Records -

Search billions of family history and genealogy records and access unique, exclusive local and world collections.