All HMCPL branches will be closed on Thursday, November 23 and Friday, November 24 for Thanksgiving.

Skip To Main Content
Academic Search Premier -

This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.  This resource is provided by the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL).

 

ipl2 (Internet Public Library) -

 This public service organization and a learning/teaching environment provides thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for our Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections. It is through the efforts of these students and volunteers that the ipl2 continues to thrive to this day.  Access freely available from their website.

ipl2 For Teens (Internet Public Library For Teens) -

This public service organization and a learning/teaching environment provides to date, thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for our Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections. It is through the efforts of these students and volunteers that the ipl2 continues to thrive to this day.  Access freely available from their website.

 

 

Kids.USA.gov -

Brought to you by USA.gov, Kids.gov is the official kids' portal for the U.S. government. It links kids, parents and teachers to U.S. government information and services on the web from government agencies, schools, and educational organizations.  Kids.gov is organized into three audiences: Grades K-5, Grades 6-8, and Educators. Each audience tab is divided into educational subjects like Arts, Math, and History. Within each subject, the websites are grouped as either government sites (Federal, state, military) or other resources (commercial, non-profit, educational).

Military & Government Collection -

Provides full text from over 330 military and general interest publications. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for over 370 magazines. Some titles included are Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense. This database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.