All HMCPL branches will be closed on Thursday, November 23 and Friday, November 24 for Thanksgiving.

Skip To Main Content
Academic Search Premier -

This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.  This resource is provided by the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL).

 

Artemis Literary Source -

Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

Britannica E-Books -

 eBooks on the subjects of Biographies, Geography, Government, & History, Literature, Religion, & Culture, Science & Math and Sports.

 

Business Collection -

Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Business Source Premier -

Full text articles and images from nearly 7,600 periodicals and other sources covering business, marketing, management, MIS, POM, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. Datamonitor Company Profiles are also available.

Gale Virtual Reference Library -

A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7 with your library card and PIN/Password. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

 
 
General Reference Center Gold -

 This resource provides access to an integrated set of general interest sources: magazines, newspaper articles, children’s magazines, almanacs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference books and more. Content includes more than 5,700 titles, of which, more than 4,400 are available in full-text, making it easy for researchers to locate answers for their general-interest research queries.

 

GreenFILE -

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

ipl2 (Internet Public Library) -

 This public service organization and a learning/teaching environment provides thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for our Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections. It is through the efforts of these students and volunteers that the ipl2 continues to thrive to this day.  Access freely available from their website.

ipl2 For Kids (Internet Public Library) -

This public service organization and a learning/teaching environment provides thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for our Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections. It is through the efforts of these students and volunteers that the ipl2 continues to thrive to this day.  Access freely available from their website.

ipl2 For Teens (Internet Public Library For Teens) -

This public service organization and a learning/teaching environment provides to date, thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for our Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections. It is through the efforts of these students and volunteers that the ipl2 continues to thrive to this day.  Access freely available from their website.

 

 

Newspaper Source -

Provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center -

This resource draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Points of View Reference Center -

Provides students and schools with a series of controversial essays and presents multiple sides of the issue.

Regional Business News -

Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily.

Student Research Center -

Provides students with the most appropriate research tools for easily obaining the information that they need from their EBSCO databases. Users can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels.

Vocations & Careers Collection -

This Gale Collection includes information for finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

World Data Analyst -

This powerful yet easy-to-use online tool lets students analyze countries at a glance. World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. Plus, students can create tables, charts, and even export the information to a spreadsheet for printing and data crunching. Students can also link to country articles from the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. It all leads to better understanding of our ever-changing world.  This resource is available through the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL).