Login to My Account

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Alabama

Encyclopedia of Alabama history, culture, geography, and natural environment. Offers articles on Alabama’s famous people, historic events, sports, art, literature, industry, government, plant and animal life, agriculture, recreation, and more. Read more about Encyclopedia of Alabama

Part of AVL?: 
1
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 

World Almanac for Kids

Easy-to-use reference database complements SIRS Discoverer articles by providing facts and information on a variety of topics including people, countries, animals, the environment and history. Maps and other related graphics are also available. Read more about World Almanac for Kids

Part of AVL?: 
1
Library card required?: 
0

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. Read more about Oxford English Dictionary

Part of AVL?: 
1
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

General encyclopedia for K-12 students includes full text articles; its 25,000 encyclopedic entries are searchable by subject or keywords. Read more about Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Part of AVL?: 
1
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 
Subject Classification: 

Enciclopedia Universal en Español

A comprehensive Spanish-language reference tool with more than 47,000 articles for older students and adults. Read more about Enciclopedia Universal en Español

Part of AVL?: 
1
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 

Enciclopedia Juvenil

Enciclopedia Juvenil from Encyclopedia Britannica is a comprehensive reference resource for ages 6-12. The Elementary Encyclopedia, with more than 1,500 articles and 1,000 images, is age-appropriate and based on school curriculum needs. Read more about Enciclopedia Juvenil

Part of AVL?: 
1
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 

Britannica Online School Edition

Gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. Offers student-friendly website recommendations, current magazine and journal articles, the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate and Student Dictionaries and Thesauri (with audio pronunciations), a world atlas, plus online learning materials that are developed by teachers and curriculum experts. Contains encyclopedia articles and Learning Materials correlated to the Alabama State Standards! Read more about Britannica Online School Edition

Part of AVL?: 
1
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 

Britannica Online Public Library Edition

Includes two unique home pages -- one for children and another for adults. Contains Encyclopædia Britannica, Compton’s by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. Contains full-text magazine articles, Web sites that have been reviewed and verified by Britannica editors, a homework help section for students, a world atlas, Merriam-Webster dictionaries and thesauri for children and adults, a Spanish-English dictionary, video and audio content, daily content updates, and more. Read more about Britannica Online Public Library Edition

Part of AVL?: 
1
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 
Subject Classification: 

Britannica Online Academic Edition

Britannica Online has been thoroughly updated with new content and a more user-friendly interface that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries. Now called Britannica Online Academic Edition, the site includes new content such as World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, and our collection of Notable Quotations as well as new functionality including advanced search capabilities and the Britannica Workspace, a research organizer. Read more about Britannica Online Academic Edition

Part of AVL?: 
1
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 
Subject Classification: