Login to My Account

Huntsville / Madison County Info

HMCPL Obituary Index

The HMCPL Obits Index is an index of all obituaries published in local papers. Visit obits.hmcpl.org to search our index and purchase print copies of obituaries for a nominal fee. An extra bonus: we cross-reference obituaries with interment sites. So, if you find an interment site of interest, you can view a list of other people buried there, and perhaps find additional people you didn't know you needed to look for. Read more about HMCPL Obituary Index

Part of AVL?: 
0
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 

Huntsville History Collection

HHC (huntsvillehistorycollection.org) is a virtual archive of resources about the history and historic architecture of Huntsville and Madison County, Alabama. The collection brings together photographs, illustrations, surveys, and history about homes, locations, and people. Read more about Huntsville History Collection

Part of AVL?: 
0
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 

huntsvillehistorycollection.org

Available to everyone.

Encyclopedia of Alabama

Encyclopedia of Alabama history, culture, geography, and natural environment. Offers articles on Alabama’s famous people, historic events, sports, art, literature, industry, government, plant and animal life, agriculture, recreation, and more. Read more about Encyclopedia of Alabama

Part of AVL?: 
1
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 

Government Officials List

A current list of contact information for local, state, and national government officials. Read more about Government Officials List

Part of AVL?: 
0
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 

Free download (PDF format).

Subject Classification: 

Community Organizations Database

The Directory of County Community Organizations in North Alabama. Community organizations are listed in alphabetical order and users can also locate a group by typing in a topic.  Visit the directory here: hmcpl.org/community. Read more about Community Organizations Database

Part of AVL?: 
0
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 
Subject Classification: 

AlabamaMosaic

AlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, universities and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents as well as scholars throughout the world.  As a part of AlabamaMosaic, HMCPL is digitizing images from a collection of historic Huntsville photographs that are housed in the library's archives. Read more about AlabamaMosaic

Part of AVL?: 
1
Library card required?: 
0
How to access this resource: 

alabamamosaic.org

Accessible to Alabama residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.

Freegal

Access songs from the Sony Music Entertainment catalog at no charge! You can download up to three Sony Music tracks in mp3 format per week from Freegal Music, and you'll only need a library card number and PIN to get started. Read more about Freegal

Part of AVL?: 
0
Library card required?: 
1
How to access this resource: 

Log in with your library card and PIN, and click the "Download DRM-free music" link on the My Account page (hmcpl.org/myaccount) or visit hmcpl.org/freegal for more info.